Glenn Dorsey was awarded the Lott Trophy on Sunday night
LSU's Glenn Dorsey wins the Lott Trophy

NEWPORT BEACH, Ca. (December 10, 2007) – Defensive Tackle Glenn Dorsey of LSU was named the winner of the fourth annual Lott Trophy Sunday night at The Pacific Club in Newport Beach.

Dorsey is a 6-2, 300-pound senior from Gonzales, La. who has already won the Nagurski, Lombardi and Outland awards this week.

Dorsey was presented the trophy by Ronnie Lott, the Hall of Fame defensive back who starred at USC and was an All-Pro in the NFL.

The other finalists were James Laurinaitis of Ohio State, J Leman of Illinois and Chris Long of Virginia.

In its fourth year, The Lott Trophy honors the college football Defensive IMPACT Player of the Year. The student-athlete is judged on both his on-field performance and his off-field performance. The Lott Trophy is the first sports award based on personal character and is appropriately named after the legendary defensive back, Ronnie Lott. The first three winners were David Pollack of Georgia, DeMeco Ryans of Alabama and Dante Hughes of Cal.

Voting for the winner was conducted by Ernst & Young with ballots being sent to college offensive and defensive coordinators, national media, The Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation Board of Directors, a Board of Advisors made up of former NFL players and coaches as well as the Master Coaches, a group of distinguished former college head coaches.

LSU will receive $25,000 from The Pacific Club’s IMPACT Foundation for its general scholarship fund while Ohio State, Illinois and Virginia will each receive $5,000.


Subscribe to
Designed and Developed
by MaxMedia Design.